Sweet Cravings

Ice cream, ice cream, we all scream for ice cream.

Sweet cravings are one of the side effects of cutting out the sugar in your life.

And cutting out sugar and carbs leaves behind a void almost impossible to fill.

I gotta have me some…

Sweets!

Pulling the container of Cream Cheese Ice Cream out of the freezer really helps.

It’s the waiting that is hard. I gotta have it now. Patience is not a virtue I inherited.

Two things for me will snap the patience button quicker that anything else. Sweet cravings and lies.

I find myself liying to myself a lot when I diet, so to avoid the lies I have tried to make a life style change.

Liying about the sweets I inhaled and how it won’t hurt to sneak just one, I now realize that I need to include a sweet every once in a while. But, I need to choose the kind of sweet that will not cause head aches, high blood pressure or extra weight gain. I’m still working on that last one, weight gain. Loving food is another vice of mine.( confession is good for the soul, at least that’s what I have heard.)

Cream cheese ice cream is one of those sweets that tames the cravings for me. Just a couple of spoonfuls at a time works wonders with my good moods.

Cream cheese ice cream

1 block of cream cheese melted and whipped

1/2 cup heavy cream whipped (zero sugar whipped topping makes great substitute)

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/4 plain or vanilla Greek yogurt

A handful of mashed fresh strawberries

(Substitutes, other berries, pineapple, another favorite substitute of mine is 1/2 cup sugar free chocolate pudding )

Optional: 1/4 to 1/2 cup chopped walnuts.

If you still need sweetening, add a little ( notice I said a little) bit of your favorite sweetener substitute.

Stir together until mixed well. Freeze.

More and more I find that my sweet cravings are worse at night when I’m trying to shut down my intense focus from work. I will take out the ice cream and have about 3 teaspoons full off the corner of the container and that’s all I need.

Then again. My taste buds will fight with me for more of that creamy flavor.

I gotta have more and I gotta have it now!

Leave a comment

Filed under desert, Uncategorized

Leave a comment